Thursday, January 27, 2022

BBL 2021-22: Tournament details, Squads, Schedule and Venues

Yet another edition of the BBL will commence when defending champions Sydney Sixers lock horns against Melbourne Stars on Sunday.


BBL 2021: Yet another edition of Big Bash League 2021 (BBL) will commence when defending champions Sydney Sixers lock horns against Melbourne Stars on Sunday. So far there have been 10 editions of the Big Bash league that happened at different venues of Australia cricket grounds over the years.

The Upcoming edition of BBL 2021 will be the 11th edition among eight teams which featured 56 games. The format will be round robin against each other and the top four teams will automatically qualify for the knockout games.

In the knockout stage, teams will have to play five games eliminator, qualifier, knockout, Challenger, and the final between the two best teams. As it’s the Australian cricket top franchise league in which various professional cricketers like Glenn Maxwell, David Warner, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa will be seen in different franchises during the tournament.

IPL or BBL?Which is the better league

Over the years various cricket-playing nations have started their franchise cricket league to promote their young talent at the world level. But the kind of craze the two franchises league has had in the past always put up the question in the minds of the fans which one has been better.

BBL 2021-22 - Tour details, squad, timings and Venues
BBL 2021-22 – Tour details, squad, timings and Venues

IPL or BBL? No doubt IPL had started first in 2007 after the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup which in result gave the new direction to Indian Cricket.

In the first few years of IPL up to 2011 at last the tournament had been better from the audience’s point of view as matches were more nail-biting in those years. Later on, it was very much predictable to know match results without having to wait till last.

How BBL differs from IPL

BBL had started in 2011 but the league is very different from IPL. In the IPL, there has been an auction to choose players while in the BBL there has been contract mode with players to play for the franchise for the respective period.

Like all leagues are just to generate revenue from the game. But somewhere if we dissect the difference between BBL and other leagues there has a fine line to care about the audience in the tournament like BBL.

The kind of innovations BBL has come up with in recent times like Jumbotrons, Rocket Man, Zinger Bails, Helmet Cams, Digital Boundary ropes, and Black Blades. Such crazy innovations we are still waiting to see in the tournament like IPL.

IPL is pathetic in terms of quality to have an experience like Big Bash league. The day is not far away when the Big Bash League will come up with the idea of on-field umpires replace by robots to have more accurate decisions.


1. Adelaide Strikers

George Garton (England), Ryan Gibson, Travis Head, Spencer Johnson, Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Wes Agar, Fawad Ahmed, Alex Carey, Harry Conway, Harry Nielsen, Liam O’Connor, Matthew Renshaw, Liam Scott, Matt Short, Peter Siddle, Jake Weatherald, Jon Wells, Daniel Worrall

2. Brisbane Heat –

Max Bryant, Tom Cooper, Ben Duckett (England), Sam Heazlett, Matt Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Tom Abell (England), Xavier Bartlett, James Bazley, Chris Lynn, Michael Neser, Jimmy Pierson, Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Afghanistan), Mark Steketee, Connor Sully, Mitchell Swepson, Jack Wildermuth, Matthew Willans

3. Hobart Hurricane

Nathan Ellis, Peter Handscomb, Caleb Jewell, Josh Kann, Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal), Scott Boland, Harry Brook (England), Tim David, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Mitch Owen, Joel Paris, Wil Parker, Tom Rogers, D’Arcy Short, Jordan Thompson (England), Matthew Wade, Mac Wright

4. Melbourne Renegades

Aaron Finch, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Sam Harper, Marcus Harris, Mackenzie Harvey, Cameron Boyce, Unmukt Chand (India), Zak Evans, Zahir Khan (Afghanistan), Josh Lalor, Nic Maddinson, Shaun Marsh, Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan), James Pattinson, Mitch Perry, Jack Prestwidge, Kane Richardson, Will Sutherland, Reece Topley (England)

5. Sydney Sixers

Dan Christian, Tom Curran (England), Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Mickey Edwards, Sean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies), Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Hayden Kerr, Nathan Lyon, Ben Manenti, Stephen O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Silk, James Vince (England)

6. Sydney Thunder

Oliver Davies, Brendan Doggett, Matt Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales (England), Baxter Holt, Usman Khawaja, Sam Billings (England), Jonathan Cook, Ben Cutting, Saqib Mahmood (England), Nathan McAndrew, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, Chris Tremain

7. Melbourne Stars

Joe Clarke (England), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Sam Elliott, Seb Gotch, Liam Hatcher, Clint Hinchcliffe, Qais Ahmad (Afghanistan), Joe Burns, Hilton Cartwright, Nick Larkin, Glenn Maxwell, Tom O’Connell, Sam Rainbird, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Beau Webster, Adam Zampa

8. Perth Scocers

Laurie Evans (England), Aaron Hardie, Peter Hatzoglou, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kelly, Mitch Marsh, Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Lance Morris, Colin Munro (New Zealand), Kurtis Patterson, Jhye Richardson, Aston Turner, Andrew Tye


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.