Every single run matters, as goes the saying in cricket and it wasn’t much different in the second One-Day International between India and Australia at the Adelaide Oval. The Men in Blue won the match with just 4 balls left, with skipper Virat Kohli and former captain MS Dhoni leading the run-chase from the front. The footage, however, has now surfaced suggesting that Dhoni had taken a short run during the chase but the whole incident went unnoticed by the on-field and the third umpire.
The incident took place off the last ball of the 45th over which Nathan Lyon was bowling. The things were extremely close and Dhoni had already eked out 10 runs off the first five deliveries of the over. The last ball saw him knocking the ball down to long on and take a single calmly. The former Indian captain was visibly tired and literally walked to complete his single.
However, there was a blip here on the part of MS Dhoni and the on-field umpire as well. Dhoni didn’t completely reach the crease and tap his bat inside the line as well. He quickly turned back to have a chat with his partner Dinesh Karthik with the required run-rate hovering around nine constantly.
Did anyone notice that dhoni actually didn’t complete the run here? pic.twitter.com/F9KjKiFILc
— superrules_fool (@Superrules_fool) January 15, 2019