ICC Announces New Format for T20 World Cup 2024, 20 Teams to Participate


The International Cricket Council has unveiled the different formats for the T20 World Cup 2024 edition of the T20 World Cup. It will be completely a different format than the one used in the 2021 and 2022 T20 WC.

The latest T20 World Cup played in Australia ended as certainly the best-ever edition due to the close contests, competitiveness and upsets. Pakistan and England, who came second in their respective Groups, made it to the final of the tournament.

Batting first, Pakistan could score 137 in their designated quota of 20 overs, with Sam Curran taking 3/12. In reply, Ben Stokes’s terrific knock of 52* off 49 sealed the chase for the Three Lions and lift their second T20 World Cup title.

Although the T20 World Cup 2022 edition was a huge success, ICC has revamped their strategy to include more teams in the T20 World Cup 2024 edition. West Indies and the USA have already qualified for the showpiece event, being the hosts.

Icc Announces New Format for T20 World Cup 2024; 20 Teams to Participate
Icc Announces New Format for T20 World Cup 2024; 20 Teams to Participate

The apex board thinks the novel format in T20 World Cup 2024 will witness fresh match-ups and historic moments. Moreover, 20 teams are set to participate in the tournament, while divided into four groups.

READ MORE: Australia’s All-Rounder Glenn Maxwell Discloses The Reason Behind Breaking His Leg

Two phases before knockouts in the new format for T20 World Cup 2024

In the 2021 and 2022 editions, the first round witnessed eight teams divided into two groups. Only four out of those eight teams earned entry into the Super 12 stage.

However, the new format will see five teams per group. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super 8 stage of the tournament.

READ MORE: Liam Livingstone Opts Out Of Upcoming Edition Of Big Bash League

Afterwards, the top two teams from each group of Super 8 will play the semi-finals, followed by the final. The top eight teams in the T20 WC 2022 (England, Pakistan, New Zealand, India, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Australia and the Netherlands) have already qualified.

Furthermore, Bangladesh and South Africa also earned direct qualification for T20 World Cup 2024 on account of the next-best T20I rankings on the cut-off date, November 14, 2022.

The remaining eight teams will have to battle it out in the regional tournament to make it to the T20 World Cup 2024. Out of them, Africa, Asia and Europe will constitute of two spots each, with the Americas and East-Asia Pacific regions taking one each.

People also like