IND VS SL: Sri Lanka Announce 20-Man Squad for ODI, T20I Series Against India


IND VS SL: Between December 2022 and January 2023, the Indian cricket team and Sri Lanka cricket team will play three ODIs and as many T20Is. After the Bangladesh tour in December 2022, Team India will host Sri Lanka for a white-ball match.

A report states that between December 2022 and January 2023, IND VS SL will play three ODIs and the same number of T20Is. The Men in Blue will trip to Bangladesh to play a white-ball ODI series followed by a Test series after the New Zealand tour, which included three T20Is (won by India 1-0) and three ODIs (won by New Zealand 1-0).

It is noteworthy that the Indian selectors have named the team for the ODI and Test series, with Rohit Sharma is to captain the team in ODI contests. The Indian selectors have chosen a full-strength squad to play Bangladesh, despite resting a few key players from the New Zealand tour.

Sri Lanka has previously toured India in February 2022. In February–March 2022, the Sri Lankan team faced off IND VS SL in a multi-format series. In every aspect of the game, the Indians dominated the visitors. Both the T20I and Test series were won by India, 2-0 in the IND VS SL series.

IND VS SL: Dasun Shanaka Will Lead Sri Lanka

IND VS SL: Sri Lanka Announce 20-Man Squad for ODI, T20I Series Against India
IND VS SL: Sri Lanka Announce 20-Man Squad for ODI, T20I Series Against India

The 20-person Sri Lanka Cricket Selection Committee squad for the forthcoming white-ball series tour of India was unveiled on Wednesday. While Kusal Mendis will serve as his assistant in the ODIs, Dasun Shanaka will captain Sri Lanka’s T20I and ODI teams in IND VS SL series.

“The next Sri Lanka tour of India in 2022–2023 will feature the following 20-member squad, chosen by the Sri Lanka Cricket Selection Committee. Roshan Ranasinghe, the honorable minister of sports and youth affairs, has given the team his blessing. In a formal announcement.” Sri Lanka Cricket stated.

Three T20Is and as many ODIs make up the tour. From January 3 to January 15, Sri Lanka will tour India for three T20Is and three ODIs. The series’ opening game will take place on January 3, 2023, in Mumbai, and the second and third games will be played on January 5 and 7, respectively, in Pune and Rajkot. The ODIs will take place on January 10, 12, and 15 in Guwahati, Kolkata, and Trivandrum, respectively.

Sri Lanka’s Squad for IND VS SL: Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Mendis (v-c for ODIs). Nuwanidu Fernando (only for ODIs), Jeffrey Vandersay (only for ODIs), Charith Asalanka. Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga (v-c for T20Is), Ashen Bandara, Maheesh Theekshana, Chamika Karunaratne. Dilshan Madushanka, Kasun Rajitha, Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan. Lahiru Kumara and Nuwan Thushara (only for T20I), Bhanuka Rajapaksa (only for T20Is).

IND VS SL: Full strength team for ODI series, Rahul removed from ODI vice-captaincy

In the ODIs, Rohit Sharma will captain the squad once again, and Pandya will serve as his vice-captain. For the ODIs, Kohli will also be back in action. Rishabh Pant does not appear in either squad, therefore it is unclear if he has been rested or dropped. On the other hand, Ishan Kishan has been named to both squads.

Team India lost both of their 50-over series against Bangladesh and New Zealand after two consecutively terrible performances. With the ODI World Cup in 2023 in mind, the team will be striving to become a strong one and play aggressive cricket.

In their most recent T20I match, the Men in Blue defeated the Kiwis 1-0 under the leadership of Hardik Pandya. The Lankan Lions, on the other hand, will play in their first 20-over assignment since the T20 World Cup 2022. They want to kick off the year successfully.

Indian ODI Squad for IND VS SL: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer. KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal. Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh.

People also like