Top Ten Highest-Earning Players in the History of IPL


The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 season begins today, with up to ten clubs competing for glory. When it comes to the players who have earned the most money in the T20 league, Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, and Suresh Raina top the list.

Thus far, seven players have earned 100 crores or more. Let’s take a look at the Top 10 highest-earning IPL players of all time. The only foreign players in the top ten are Sunil Narine and AB de Villiers.

Rohit Sharma has surpassed Mahendra Singh Dhoni in terms of most IPL earnings. He has appeared in most games for the Mumbai Indians, assisting them in winning five titles. His total earnings are Rs. 178.6 crore.

MS Dhoni, the captain of the Chennai Super Kings, was the most expensive player in the first auction. His first salary was Rs 6 crore, which was increased to Rs 8.28 crore in 2011, Rs 12.5 crore in 2014, and Rs 15 crore in 2018. For the previous season, Dhoni took Rs 12 crore. His total earnings are Rs. 176.84 crores.

Virat Kohli is the third highest-earning player in the IPL, trailing only Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni

Top ten highest-earning players in history of IPL
Top ten highest-earning players in the history of IPL

In his IPL career, Virat Kohli has earned a total of Rs 173.2 crore. Virat Kohli has also amassed the most runs in Indian Premier League history. This former RCB skipper has 6624 runs at an average of 36.20 in 223 matches.

Suresh Raina, nicknamed “Mr. IPL,” is one of the most successful batsmen in the T20 competition, winning four titles for Chennai Super Kings. Raina set a record by scoring 300 or more runs in every season from 2008 to 2019. Raina made 110 crores from the Indian Premier League.

When the IPL began, Ravindra Jadeja was an uncapped player. The Rajasthan Royals picked him in the U-19 player draught for Rs 12 lakh. His total earnings as a result of his outstanding performances exceed Rs109 crore.

Sunil Narine and AB de Villiers are the only foreign players in the top ten

Sunil Narine and AB de Villiers are the only foreign players in the top ten
Sunil Narine and AB de Villiers are the only foreign players in the top ten

Narine has appeared in every season for KKR since 2012. Narine earned Rs 12.5 crore per season from 2018 to 2021, but that figure plummeted to Rs 6 crore in 2022. His IPL earnings total more than Rs 107.2 crore.

AB de Villiers’ final season was in 2021. De Villiers, also known as “Mr. 360,” began his career in 2008 with a 1.2 crore salary. By the end of his career, he was earning Rs. 11 crores every season on average, and he retired with earnings of Rs. 102.5 crores.

Gautam Gambhir had a lot of success while playing for KKR. For a very long time, he was the most expensive player on the team. Before retiring in 2018, he earned Rs 94.62 crore.

Shikhar Dhawan has played in every season of the IPL since its beginning. As a result of his consistent performance, Dhawan’s teams have seen a gradual increase in his salary. His overall pay in 2022 is Rs 8.25 crore, while his total earnings in his career are Rs 91.8 crore.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore wicketkeeper-batter is ranked 10th all-time in the India Premier League. Dinesh Karthik Karthik earns Rs 5.5 crore in salary and Rs 86.92 crore in IPL earnings.

People also like