Saturday, January 29, 2022

Javagal Srinath and Harbhajan Singh gets the Life Membership from MCC


On Tuesday, the MCC club has announced that the two former cricketers of the Indian team get the Life Membership. Alongside the two cricketers, various former players also get the Life Membership from the MCC club.

Well-known renowned cricketers of his times have had a huge impact on the game of crickets. Where Javagal Srinath was one of the complete fast bowlers of his era and was the one who led the foundation of great fast bowlers of today’s era.

Technically, Indian pitches are not good for the fast bowlers but Javagal Srinath was the torchbearer of the Indian lineup.

Harbhajan Singh made his debut towards the late 90s when Srinath has passed the prime phase of his career. Both were part of the team on numerous occasions and led their team to victory against the best sides.

Javagal Srinath and Harbhajan Singh gets the Life Membership from MCC
Javagal Srinath and Harbhajan Singh gets the Life Membership from MCC

The pacer Srinath has picked up more than 300 wickets in limited-overs cricket and was the most successful after Kapil Dev. Harbhajan Singh was more successful in test cricket where he has picked up more than 400 wickets in 103 tests.

The former South African cricketers Morne Morkel, Jacques Kallis, Herschelle Gibbs are also honored with Life Membership from MCC. Kallis over 10000 test runs remains the finest all-rounder of the game. Gibbs was the complete batsman in ODI cricket and was part of the team led by Graeme Smith.

Apart from South Africa, the former Australian player Damien Martyn and Alex Blackwell also received the honor of Life Membership from MCC. Damien Martyn was one of the best middle-order batsmen in the Australian team of the 2000 era.

While from West Indies, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, and Ian Bishop received the Life Membership from MCC.

All the players were the part of last best West Indies team. From Sri Lanka, it remains the Rangana Herath bowler to feature in the list of players awarded Life Membership. Herath was the successful spinner with 433 test wickets.

Surprise to see no Pakistan players are on the list of MCC club life Membership while from England it was Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, and Marcus Trescothick awarded Life Membership. From the England Women team, it was only Sarah Taylor awarded.

Even the name of Andy Flower is there who is one of the greatest wicket-keeper batsmen of his time to play the Zimbabwe team. After declaring the names of the chief executive secretary of MCC has said out,

“It’s a thrill to announce the players with Life Membership who are the legends of the game and played cricket at the highest level of game”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.