Top 6 nominees for Samba Gold Award – Best Brazilian Player in Europe 2017

Neymar Coutinho

The award for the best Brazillian player in Europe is about to be presented. The voting has begun. The award has been held by many greats in the last few years.

We look at he top 6 favourites to win the prestigious award.

Kaka with his Samba Gold Award he won in 2008.


1) Gabriel Jesus (Manchester City)

Gabriel Jesus is an attacker of supreme quality from Brazil who is just 20 years old.  The Manchester City hitman has been one of the revelations for the side. For the country he has played 9 games and has managed to grab 6 goals and 4 assists. Jesus is seen as the ideal successor to Blues hero- Sergio Aguero. Being named for such a big award at a tender age should be a huge boost to him.

2) Neymar (Paris Saint Germain)

The biggest transfer this year, Neymar has been in the headlines since moving to PSG from Barcelona. He has played 12 matches for his new club in which he has scored 9 goals and got 6 assists this year. He has played a little rough getting himself 5 Yellows and 1 Red. But scoring goals and winning matches for the club is all that matters- and the former Santos man does that very very well.

3) Paulinho (Barcelona)

Paulinho who made it to Barcelona this year, is a Brazilian midfielder who is 29 years old. He has played 7 matches for Barcelona as a substitute yet he has managed to score 4 goals and 2 assists from midfield. He is a player that can go big at this club and can be a great asset for the Cataluniyans.

Many doubted his ability to make a telling impact at such a big club, but he has proven them wrong. With a little more time to settle in, Paulinho can be one of the best late-bloomers we have ever seen.

4) Phillipe Coutinho (Liverpool)

Phillipe Coutinho who joined Liverpool in 2013 at the age of 21, is a midfielder, has made it to big names in the football industry. At the age of 25 he has 133 appearances in the Premier League with 38 goals for the club and 28 assists in all. He has played 9 matches this year and scored 4 for Liverpool. He has also made 4 assists for the club.

5) David Luiz (Chelsea)

Luiz left Chelsea in 2014 for PSG came back to Stamford Bridge in 2016. He is a 30 year old defender, who has played for clubs like Benfica, Chelsea and PSG. He has scored 2 goals in the 7 matches he has played in the World Cup for Brazil. Luiz has won many numerous prestigious trophies but very few individually. Having seen the biggest forwards square in the eye, the centre half probably deserves a good run at this one. He is a strong contender for the Samba Gold award.

6) Marcelo (Real Madrid)

Marcelo is a key defender for Real Madrid. He has appeared for 280 matches in the La Liga. He usually plays at left back and has helped them survive crucial matches this year. Marcelo is a defender with the skills of a forward. This season he has his name on one goal and one assist. Marcelo’s sudden bursts down the left is one of the most dangerous weapons in Zinadine Zidane’s arsenal.

Author’s Take:

I personally think Gabriel Jesus should win the award. He’s just 20 years old and yet has managed to get 8 to his name which is remarkable. He’s the future of Manchester City as well as of Brazil. He can play at forward, and both wings which is great. If the award is given to him, this will boost his morale and make his game better.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top

Subscribe To The Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!