Indian all rounder Krunal Pandya was left distraught after he failed to grab a simple caught and bowled chance in the first T20I against New Zealand due to the intervention of the non striker at the bowling end. The Kiwis had got off to a brilliant start with the help of their openers Colin Munro and Tim Seifert who were smashing the ball to all parts of the park. The duo put on 86 runs for the first wicket before Munro was eventually dismissed by Krunal Pandya in the second ball of the 9th over.
The incident occurred in the very next ball when the hosts were well placed at 87/1. Krunal dished out an excellent delivery which pitched slightly short of good length, held on to the pitch and straightened enough to take the outside edge. Williamson, who was facing his first delivery, was completely fooled by the trajectory of the delivery and ended up lobing it straight back to the non striker.
The ball was not too far away from Krunal, who dived to his right in an attempt to take the catch but the non striker Seifert was in his way. Krunal was absolutely livid with the non striker for not moving away when the ball was coming towards him and appealed to the on field umpire against Seifert for obstructing the field. The umpire, however, was unmoved and advised Krunal to calm down. The left armer was left with no option but to go back to his bowling run up but was clearly unhappy with Seifert and expressed his disappointment in his own manner.
Watch the video here: