WATCH: Ravichandran Ashwin tries to Mankad Wriddhiman Saha twice in the same over, gets a warning from the umpire

The ongoing edition of the IPL has seen pretty much everything starting from high-scoring run-chases, last ball dramas to a captain entering the field of play after getting dismissed. The most talked about incident in this year’s IPL however has to be the ‘Mankading’ dismissal of Jos Buttler on the 4th match of the season. The Kings XI Punjab skipper sparked a fair amount of controversy when he effected Mankading to dismiss Rajasthan Royals opener Jos Buttler.

The act from Ashwin stirred a huge controversy on social sphere where fans came up with mixed reactions giving their opinions on the mode of dismissal. It certainly divided the cricketing fraternity into two halves with one half believing that it was well within the rule while others making it a point that it was disgraceful from the senior man and against the spirit of the game.

The controversy surrounding Mankading arose once again during the match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kings XI Punjab when Ashwin stopped twice in his run-up while bowling to David Warner with Wriddhiman Saha was at the non-striker’s end. It all happened on the sixth over of the Sunrisers innings when Ashwin introduced himself into the attack.

Ashwin stopped twice in his delivery stride before bowling to David Warner while Wriddhiman Saha was at the other end. Wriddhiman Saha however was well within his crease on both the occasions. It was not clear whether he was trying to warn Saha to stay behind the delivery crease or stop David Warner from playing the switch-hit. Umpire S Ravi was seen having a quick word with Ashwin after he had stopped for the second time, possibly to warn him against not repeating the act for a third time.

Watch the video here:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

To Top