WATCH: The Proof that shows New Zealand was robbed in the Final
Cricket

WATCH: The Proof that shows New Zealand was robbed in the World Cup Final

New Zealand

England scripted their debut World Cup win in a final that will go down in the history books, as one of the greatest matches ever played. It seemed as though nothing could separate them from New Zealand, with the sides battling to an unprecedented tie, both sides locked on 241 after 100 overs of nerve-shredding tension that cast Ben Stokes as the home side’s hero of the hour.

England needed 15 runs to win in the last over. Ben Stokes scored nine runs on three balls with a six on the third ball of the over. Stokes played the fourth ball on the midwicket boundary and ran for two runs. To complete the run he made a dive to reach their crease. At the same time, Martin Guptill’s throw hit his bat and ran towards the boundary line changing direction. Stokes and England scored a total of six runs on that ball. Then they required three runs off 2 balls. These runs that England found were absolutely right under the rules. According to the rule, “If the ball crosses the boundary due to overthrow (even after hitting any of the batsman), then the four runs will be added to the score after the overthrow.”

But the 6 runs that were added due to the overthrow was not right, it should have been just 5 runs and New Zealand would have won the World Cup by 1 run.

Martin Guptill throws to the keeper with England's batsmen yet to coss.
This is the Photo that proves that England should have been awarded just 5 Runs. (Via-Fox Sports)

It proves that England should have got 5 runs instead of the 6 they got, and that was a vital run for England to win the World Cup.

The image, taken from the final over of the incredible final, shows New Zealand fielder Martin Guptill launch a throw to the keeper’s end as England batsmen Ben Stokes, at the left of the screen, and Adil Rashid, desperately attempt to complete a second run.

Crucially, it shows the batsmen yet to cross at the precise moment Guptill releases the ball.

According to Law.19.8: “If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act,” the law states.

Just after this moment, the throw from Guptill hit Ben Stoke’s bat and rocketed past Tom Latham to the boundary. Umpires Kumar Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus discussed between themselves before awarding England six runs.

Former international umpire and member of the MCC laws subcommittee, Simon Taufel, confirmed that the umpires had made a grave error.

“It’s a clear mistake … it’s an error of judgment,” Taufel said.

“The relevant clause from the MCC rule book is this”.

“In the heat of what was going on, they thought there was a good chance the batsmen had crossed at the instant of the throw” Taufel added.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

To Top